The endless optimism of people

I often wonder what's wrong wih people. That's not new. This time I thought I'd narrow it down a bit though, to the mystery of why people tend to be so hoplessly optimistic. I don't mean that we should all just give up, not at all, I'm as good a fighter as anyone, but I do suggest that we try to stop pretending that everything will work out in the end. We all know it won't, our story always ends in death. And if it's not us, then it's someone else. We will know greif.

I know, I sound like a whining bastard about ready to end my own pain, but belive me when I say that thats the last thing I feel like doing, if for no other reason than the fact that that action in itself would be a big "I give up"-message. I don't give up, it's as simple as that.

I've actually come to realise something: There must be people who really belive that everything in the world is nice and dandy. They are the ones that would tend to give up if something changed their outlook on life; their whole reason for staying in the race is that they have a fundamental belif in the goodness of the world, thats their whole justification! So, take that away and there really isn't much left to fight for.

When cynics, pessimists, critics and other individuals with a "less than healthy" world view are concerned, their main reason for not giving up is that despite the facts of the world, despite the injustices, the horrors of war and of mankind, the diseases, the crap on tv and so on they just won't give up. The real courage is to keep going in spite of the grim outlook and the certain defeat that lies at the end of the battle.

/F

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0